NaPoWriMo Day 2: I look at the sky

Often, on dreary ploddings
And monotonous saunterings,
I look at the sky.
I actually do that.
I pick myself up,
Put in a little more effort to raise my head
And do it.

I look at the sky,
At its beautiful shades of blue blending together,
Like fog on sill,
All ending up in a picturesque scene.
And, then, I tell myself
“All this, all that I am doing,
All that I am facing
Is too little to stand in front of the sky,
And to even bring to compare itself
With the beauty that the sky is, that life is”

I look at the sky,
At the flock of birds flying together
in a chaotic, calm queue;
At a little bird who just took a flight
And is brave enough to get to the top.
And, then, I tell myself
“All this, all that I am doing,
All that I am facing is but collateral damage.
The sky holds my destiny.
My soul wishes to fly.
It was born to fly
And one day it will get to that top”

I look at the sky.
And, it makes me smile.
It just does.

Today, after another frazzling day,
I take a dreary plodding home.
Only the day was too frazzling,
like the last few ones
And the plodding was to dreary
like the last few ones.
To remind myself of hope and of life,
I look at the sky
But, I see no blue, I see no bird
I see darkness.
It was no longer the same sky.
It was no longer the same time.
It was no longer the same world.
I was late in my daily escapes,
Like the last few ones.
And, now the darkness had struck me
Surrounded me
I look up and I only see a little star.
A little white shining star in the dark bleak sky,
An object which would never enlighten the entire sky
A hope which would never materialise into reality
A lie which would never become the truth.
I look at the sky.
And, I see nothing, but a lie.
And, I do not dare look at it again.

Thus, I write this. I shout this.
I wish to look at the sky.
At the sky, which promised love.
At the sky, which promised life.
I shout it out
I say it out,
For that soul which once wished to touch the sky,
For that soul which is struggling to say it out,
For that soul which is struggling to breathe out the monotonous slavery.
It wishes to shout and shout this out.
It wishes to say it out. I
It wishes to beg for a silver lining.
Because, if it wouldn’t, it would die.
And, I…
I just cannot let it die.

Leave a Reply

