The Escapist: A Poetic Duet

The Escapist is a poem written by me (Harsh) and HastyWords. Hasty is phenomenal writer. Be sure to check her blog out.

I lived inside fuzzy dreams,
Behind old shredded drapes,
Held captive by irrationality,
And broken by all my regrets.

Darkness surrounded me,
And pain shattered my soul,
Yet, I stood there, powerless.
Hoping that someday, I’ll be happy.

But someday was a temptress,
Dressed in holiday pirouettes,
Dancing upon hopeful dreams,
But fading as the clock ticks.

The only hope I had now,
Was memory of halcyon days,
And the only way to escape,
Was to just run away.

Spinning through the vortex,
Uncertain of choices to make,
I ran until I couldn’t anymore,
And destiny found me standing still.

2 thoughts on “The Escapist: A Poetic Duet

  1. Hello. I stumbled upon your blog and like your poem. I especially enjoyed this bit:
    “But someday was a temptress,
    Dressed in holiday pirouettes,
    Dancing upon hopeful dreams,
    But fading as the clock ticks”

    Magical. .

    Like

Leave a Reply

