Resilient: A Free Verse

“Be still, sad heart. Hold on, hold fast.”

“And then? Would things be my way one day?”

“No, but wait for that day when..”

“When people would stop hurting me?
Would that ever happen?”

“No, no, it won’t.”

“Then, why should I be quiet?
Why should I not sob? Would they
notice my pain and anguish this way?”

“No, they never would.”

“Then, I ask you what should I hold on to?
What should I wait for, quietly and patiently?
What will happen one day, that I may hope for?”

“One day, you’ll be stronger.”

Leave a Reply

