Regret: NaPoWriMo Day 14

It was a winter dawn, when she came at my door,
With black hair, pleasing eyes and a cheerful core,
She asked if I would accompany her in her venture,
I said no, forgive me, it’s not my game.

It was noon now, when she knocked once more,
With faded hair, weary eyes and a sad core,
She asked if I would leave her home,
I said no, and reiterated it once again.

It was dusk now, and she came one more time,
With grey hair, swollen eyes, carrying painful signs,
She asked if I would carry to the abyss,
I said no, in abasing words, no gain.

It was night now, and she did not knock the scene,
Yet, I kept staring at the sill, tied in fog like a dream,
Reiterating to myself, whispering to myself in subtle words,
Ye, I would do it all, again and again and again.

Leave a Reply

